INDIANAPOLIS-MARION COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY ANNUAL BOARD MEETING NOVEMBER 27, 2023

The Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library Board met in person at the Spades Park Branch Library, 1801 Nowland Avenue, Indianapolis, Indiana on Monday, November 27, 2023 at 8:45 p.m., pursuant to notice given in accordance with the rules of the Board.

1. Call To Order

President Tribble presided as Chairman. Dr. Payne acted as Secretary.

2. Roll Call

Board Members present: Mr. Biederman, Mr. Lane, Dr. Murtadha. Dr. Palacio, Dr. Payne, Ms. Tribble and Dr. White.

Members absent: None.

The Chairman announced that a quorum was present and that the meeting was duly constituted.

3. Election Of Officers

President Tribble noted that the first matter on the Agenda for the Annual Meeting is the election of Officers. Pursuant to the By-Laws, our Officers are elected for one (1) year terms and the term of office for each of our current Officers ends December 31, 2023. The term for these Officer elections is from January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024. Election of Officers is accomplished by nomination and roll call. She then commenced that process.

a. President

Mr. Biederman nominated Ms. Tribble for President.

Mr. Lane nominated Mr. Biederman for President.

Mr. Biederman declined the nomination for President.

Dr. Payne nominated Dr. Murtadha for President.

There were no other nominations from the floor and the nominations were closed.

At this time, a roll call vote was taken on the nominations of Ms. Tribble and Dr. Murtada for President.

Mr. Biederman – Ms. Tribble
Mr. Lane – Dr. Murtadha
Dr. Murtadha – Dr. Murtadha
Dr. Murtadha – Dr. Murtadha
Dr. Palacio – Ms. Tribble
Dr. Palacio – Ms. Tribble

Based on the roll call vote, it was noted that Ms. Tribble was elected President for the coming year.

b. Vice President

Ms. Tribble nominated Mr. Biederman for Vice President.

There were no other nominations from the floor and the nominations were closed.

At this time, a roll call vote was taken on the nomination of Mr. Biederman for Vice President. On the "yes" votes of Mr. Biederman, Mr. Lane, Dr. Murtadha, Dr. Palacio, Dr. Payne, Ms. Tribble and Dr. White, Mr. Biederman was unanimously elected as Vice President for the coming year.

c. Secretary

Dr. Palacio nominated Dr. Payne for Secretary.

There were no other nominations from the floor and the nominations were closed.

At this time, a roll call vote was taken on the nomination of Dr. Payne for Secretary. On the "yes" votes of Mr. Biederman, Mr. Lane, Dr. Murtadha, Dr. Palacio, Dr. Payne, Ms. Tribble and Dr. White, Dr. Payne was unanimously elected as Secretary for the coming year.

d. Treasurer

Dr. Murtadha nominated Dr. Palacio for Treasurer.

Following a brief discussion, Dr. Palacio's nomination was withdrawn.

Dr. White nominated Ms. Mary Rankin, the Library's Accounting Director, for Treasurer.

There were no other nominations from the floor and the nominations were closed.

At this time, a roll call vote was taken on the nomination of Ms. Mary Rankin for Treasurer. On the "yes" votes of Mr. Biederman, Mr. Lane, Dr. Murtadha, Dr. Palacio, Dr. Payne, Ms. Tribble and Dr. White, Ms. Rankin was unanimously elected as Treasurer for the coming year.

4. Annual Resolution 88 – 2023

President Tribble commented that annually the Board approves its Annual Resolution to approve, confirm or reauthorize those matters that are addressed annually. The Resolution was circulated in advance of the meeting and it is in its standard form with three small modifications. First, the

By-Laws are not included for review/approval because the Board just approved modifications to them in the Regular Meeting that was just concluded. Second, there was a small increase in the hourly rate for our legal counsel. Third, there was an adjustment to the cost of faxing at our branches, from \$1.00 per page to \$.50 per page.

After full discussion and careful consideration, Annual Resolution 88 – 2023, was adopted on the motion of Mr. Biederman, seconded by Dr. Palacio, and the "yes" votes of Mr. Biederman, Mr. Lane, Dr. Murtadha, Dr. Palacio, Dr. Payne, Ms. Tribble and Dr. White.

The Annual Resolution is appended to, and made a part of, these minutes.

At this time, Dr. Murtadha inquired about the practice of the Library's legal counsel attending the Board's Committee Meetings and when this practice began.

Mr. Russell Brown, the Library's legal counsel, provided background on the reasons why legal counsel has been attending those Meetings.

5. Adjournment

The Secretary announced that there was no further business to come before the Board.

The Chairman declared the Annual Meeting adjourned at 9:05 p.m.

Patricia A. Payne, Secretary to the Board

* * * * * * * * * * * * *