INDIANAPOLIS-MARION COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY ANNUAL BOARD MEETING NOVEMBER 23, 2020

The Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library Board met via Zoom and/or telephone on Monday, November 23, 2020 at 8:15 p.m., pursuant to notice given in accordance with the rules of the Board.

1. Call To Order

President Salinas presided as Chairman. Mr. Biederman acted as Secretary.

2. Roll Call

Board Members present: Mr. Biederman, Mr. Bigsbee, Dr. Jett, Dr. Murtadha, Ms. Payne, Rev. Robinson and Judge Salinas.

Members absent: None.

The Chairman announced that a quorum was present and that the meeting was duly constituted.

3. Election Of Officers

President Salinas noted that the first matter on the Agenda for the Annual Meeting is the election of Officers. Pursuant to the By-Laws, our Officers are elected for one (1) year terms and the term of office for each of our current Officers ends December 31, 2020. The term for these Officer elections will be from January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021. Election of Officers is to be accomplished by nomination and roll call. He announced that we would now commence that process.

a. President

Rev. Robinson nominated Judge Salinas for President.

There were no other nominations from the floor and the nominations were closed.

At this time, a roll call vote was taken on the nomination of Judge Salinas for President. On the "yes" votes of Mr. Biederman, Mr. Bigsbee, Dr. Jett, Dr. Murtadha, Ms. Payne, Rev. Robinson and Judge Salinas, Judge Salinas was unanimously approved as President for the coming year.

b. Vice President

Dr. Murtadha nominated Mr. Bigsbee for Vice President.

There were no other nominations from the floor and the nominations were closed.

At this time, a roll call vote was taken on the nomination of Mr. Bigsbee for Vice President. On the "yes" votes of Mr. Biederman, Mr. Bigsbee, Dr. Jett, Dr. Murtadha, Ms. Payne, Rev. Robinson and Judge Salinas, Mr. Bigsbee was unanimously approved as Vice President for the coming year.

c. Secretary

Mr. Bigsbee nominated Mr. Biederman for Secretary.

There were no other nominations from the floor and the nominations were closed.

At this time, a roll call vote was taken on the nomination of Mr. Biederman for Secretary. On the "yes" votes of Mr. Biederman, Mr. Bigsbee, Dr. Jett, Ms. Payne, Rev. Robinson and Judge Salinas, Mr. Biederman was approved as Secretary for the coming year. It was noted that Dr. Murtadha abstained from the vote.

d. Treasurer

Mr. Bigsbee nominated Ms. Ije Dike-Young, the Library's Chief Financial Officer, for Treasurer.

There were no other nominations from the floor and the nominations were closed.

At this time, a roll call vote was taken on the nomination of Ms. Ije Dike-Young for Treasurer. On the "yes" votes of Mr. Biederman, Mr. Bigsbee, Dr. Jett, Dr. Murtadha, Ms. Payne, Rev. Robinson and Judge Salinas, Ms. Dike-Young was unanimously approved as Treasurer for the coming year.

4. Annual Resolution 56 – 2020 with By-Laws

President Salinas commented that annually the Board approves its Annual Resolution to approve, confirm or reauthorize those matters that are addressed annually. A copy of the current By-Laws is also attached. There are no proposed changes to the current form of the By-Laws, and as part of the Annual Resolution, the By-Laws are being reaffirmed and approved in their current form.

Robert Scott, the Library's attorney, reminded the Board that approval of the Annual Resolution eliminates the fees for overdue Library materials.

After full discussion and careful consideration, Annual Resolution 56 - 2020 with By-Laws, was adopted on the motion of Ms. Payne, seconded by Mr. Bigsbee, and the "yes" votes of Mr. Biederman, Mr. Bigsbee, Dr. Jett, Dr. Murtadha, Ms. Payne, Rev. Robinson and Judge Salinas.

Motion carried.

The Annual Resolution with By-Laws is appended to, and made a part of, these minutes.

Ms. Nytes thanked the Board and mentioned that this was the last step in removing overdue fines. The Library will now go forward to notify patrons.

Branch Manager, Ms. Jayne Walters, also commented that this action will highly impact her community in a good way.

5. Miscellaneous

On another matter, Rev. Robinson announced that the evaluation of the Library's Chief Executive Officer for 2020 has now been completed. The Diversity, Policy and Human Resources Committee will meet to review the evaluation and it will then be forwarded to the full Board for their information and review.

6. **Adjournment**

The Secretary announced that there was no further business to come before the Board.

The Chairman declared the Annual Meeting adjourned at 8:15 p.m.

Raymond Biederman, Secretary to the Board

.